How to read the label for wheat allergy sufferers

Avoid foods that contain wheat or any of the following:

Bran

Bread crumbs

Bulgar

Cereal extract/binder/filler

Club wheat

Chilton/Dinkel

Couscous

Cracker meal

Durum

Einkorn

Emmer

Farina

Farro

Flour (all types)

Food starch

Graham flour

Hydrolyzed wheat protein

Kamut

Matzoh, matzoh meal - sometimes spelled as matzo, matzah or matza

Pasta

Noodles

Rusk

Seitan

Semolina

Spelt

Sprouted wheat

Triticale/triticum

Wheat gluten

Wheat - bran, durum, germ, gluten, grass, malt, sprouts & starch

Whole wheat berries

Wheat is sometimes found in:

Baking powder

Bottled sauces

Breakfast cereals

Cheese spread/dips

Curry powder

Gravies

Horseradish creams

Instant hot drinks

Ketchups

Monosodium glutamate (MSG)

Mustards

Oatcakes

Pancakes/waffles

Ready meals

Salad dressings

Sausages

Seasoning mixes

Soy sauce

Soups

Starch - gelatinized, modified or vegetable

Surimi

Taramasalata

Textured vegetable protein

White pepper in restaurants